Derwent House Reviews and Feedback

Light green hand drawn scroll

Looking for a large self-catering holiday house in Matlock? Read our Derwent House reviews and find our what our previous guests have said about us from a selection taken from Facebook, TripAdvisor and our guest book.

Birthday reunion, May 2019

“What a fabulous week in a superb house. Everything you could possible want. Thank you so much.”

 

Families gathering, May 2019

“Beautiful house in a lovely location. Everything we would wish for. We’ve had a great celebratory long weekend. Thank you.”

 

Family get together, April 2019

“I booked Derwent House for a family group of 10 adults and 1 toddler and it was the perfect place for us.Located on a quiet cul-de-sac next to a lovely park which was great for our little granddaughter and an easy walk for us into Matlock. The house itself was beautiful with plenty of room for us all.The beds were so comfortable with lovely quality linen and towels and the ensuites meant no queuing for showers.The hosts were easy to keep in touch with if we needed to and made us feel extremely welcome.We definitely would like to book a return visit and would recommend Derwent House as great place to stay.”

 

Family Stay, April 2019

“My family of 7 adults and 5 children (ranging in age from 1 to 7 years) had a fabulous 3 nights at Derwent House. It was beautifully appointed with everything we needed. The owners were very helpful with advice about local facilities and with our additional needs in the house. The Georgian house was full of authentic character and very comfortable. The location was perfect for us with a park next to House, nearby shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend a stay in this lovely house for a group of adults, with or without children.”

 

60th Birthday, March 2019

“Great place to celebrate my husband 60th birthday with 8 friends. Very tastefully decorated, plenty of space and well equipped in the kitchen for self catering. Matlock has a lot to offer for walking, sight seeing and eating out, which is on the door step. We would all definitely go back and stay in Derwent House in the future.”

 

Group of friends, March 2019

“Fabulous property to celebrate 60th Birthday. Great place to celebrate my husband 60th birthday with 8 friends. Very tastefully decorated, plenty of space and well equipped in the kitchen for self catering. Matlock has a lot to offer for walking, sightseeing and eating out, which is on the door step. We would all definitely go back and stay in Derwent House in the future.”

 

Group of friends, February 2019

“Fantastic House! This is our 3rd year staying at Derwent House, it is just amazing, everything and more you could want from a weekend away. The house is finished to a very high standard with lots of finishing touches. The owners are great and will do anything they can to help. We have already booked for our next trip. Just perfect!”

 

Weekend away, February 2019

“This is our 3rd year staying at Derwent House, it is just amazing, everything and more you could want from a weekend away. The house is finished to a very high standard with lots of finishing touches. The owners are great and will do anything they can to help. We have already booked for our next trip. Just perfect!”

 

Friends house party, January 2019

“What a beautiful place to stay! My friends and I have just come back from spending a fabulous weekend here. The house is amazing with lovely finishing touches . The house is located in a great place close to some scenic walks and local amenities. We all loved it. Thank you.”

 

Family group, December 2018

“Great place for couples or families, Derwent House is such a smashing house and it feels like home as soon as you walk in. It’s immaculately clean, all the rooms have lovely furniture and the equipment in the massive kitchen is top notch. There’s even tin foil/cling film/ /tea/coffee/herbs/spices/dish cloths/tea towels/ etc. all included. And a large utility room, meaning the rest of the house can stay tidy. The beds are very comfy with very nice bed linen and towels are included. The house was lovely and warm and the log fire in the sitting room was a treat. Very well situated, a nice level stroll into the centre of Matlock. There is nothing at all to dislike about this house, it’s great value for couples or a couple of families. And right next to the park too.”

 

Family reunion, July 2018

“Derwent House is a peak gem with it luxurious décor and comfort. It enabled our three families to reunite and enjoy a relaxed and fun holiday. There are so many thoughtful touches, such as the herbs and spices, leaf tea, fresh coffee and a range of equipment. Everything we needed was here. We loved the grandeur of the big dining table, the lovely showers, the charming and comfortable lounge, the laundry facilities, and the large kitchen for cooking gathered around the kitchen table, the hub of the home. This made for a great get-together and we will recommend it to all our friends.”

 

Family birthday celebration, July 2018

“Wonderful family get together for 70th birthday celebrations. Great house in a lovely location. Everything you could need to make it feel like home from home. Perfect for children with the park over the road and plenty of luxuries for the grown-ups. Thank you.”

 

Friends and family, June 2018

“What an amazing place to gather for my husband’s 70th birthday. The house was so welcoming. The location is superb and the facilities are amazing. The weekend could not have been bettered and we will be back. Lovely home form home. You have thought of everything. A big thank you.”

 

Group of friends, February 2018

“This is our 2nd stay in this beautiful house and we have already booked our next trip. This is definitely home from home with everything you need for a perfect stay. So comfortable and very clean. You won’t be disappointed. We love it!”

 

Family group, February 2018

“Derwent House provides excellent holiday accommodation in a quiet location near the centre of Matlock. We appreciated the efficient heating, a log burner (wood provided) and a utility with space to dry wet outdoor clothes. Vases of fresh flowers in the reception rooms and teddy bears on the beds were a nice touch. The large kitchen is extremely well equipped with a good range of utensils. There is an ample supply of books, games, DVD’s and CD’s in the cosy snug. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very comfortable house; we would definitely return and recommend to others.”

 

Group of friends, November 2017

“5 star recommendation for this wonderful house in Matlock. It is perfectly located on a quiet road by a lovely park and is a short walk into town. The rental was spotlessly clean and the addition of fresh flowers and yummy biscuits on arrival was a lovely personal touch. I definitely recommend Derwent House!”

 

Family group, September 2017

“This was the family’s second visit to Derwent House, this was better than the first time only because of better weather, the house cannot be improved on. It is so well equipped, the kitchen is large with every appliance you could think of and includes everyday items missing from most rentals (tea, coffee, milk, sugar and a range of cooking items such as flour, oil etc). All six bedrooms are spacious as is the family bathroom. The range of DVDs, CDs, games and toys are available for indifferent weather. There were fresh flowers in the main rooms and the “dressing” of the house with pictures, busts etc adds to the interest in the aged property. Our family consists of Mum and Dad, three sons with partners and three grandchildren and we had plenty of room to play and socialise. Great place – we will return again.”

 

Family 80th birthday, August 2017

“All unanimously enjoyed getting together for my 80th birthday with all the family. House just perfect for us all. So well-equipped and great position for town and walks.”

 

Family group, August 2017

“Perfect house in a perfect location. Great for children. Enjoyed all the little touches such as fresh flowers, games and books. We will be back.”

 

American family group, August 2017

“Fabulous Home and child friendly. We were visiting family in England and wanted a house that would fit 8 adults and 3 young children. We couldn’t have been more pleased with this house. This house is well equipped and spacious. Great kitchen with large refrigerator and lots of cookware, washer and dryer, cupboards full of games, and beautiful bedrooms. Little patio was very pleasant with beautiful flowers. Stairways had stair gates which was great with our 2 one-year olds. Five of the six bedrooms had an en suite and all very up to date. The house has beautiful touches throughout. A bonus was the large park just a few feet from the house. The kids were well entertained. We did not use our car the entire time as anything we needed was in walking distance. Love, love, love this place and it is highly recommended.”

 

Derwent House

time away, time together
Book Derwent House
Reuse, reduce recycle at Glendon Guest House
Member of visit Peak District and Derbyshire
Tripadvisor certificate of excellence 2018, Hall of Fame
Reuse, reduce recycle at Glendon Guest House